Liebster Award

The Liebster Award is online recognition given by bloggers to other new bloggers for enjoying or valuing their work. It is meant to highlight and credit favorite new up and coming blogs within our writing community.

The rules are:

Share the blog that nominated you and thank them. Answer the blogger’s 11 questions. Give 11 random facts about you. Nominate 11 blogs for the award. Notify the bloggers of your nomination. Give 11 questions for them to answer.

In answer to Ivy’s questions:

Why did you start your blog?

I started my blog because I’m a narcissist that loves hearing the sound of her own voice.

I’m only half-joking there. The truth is I have a lot of opinions and feelings about a lot of things, and I enjoy expressing them. However, I’m self-aware enough to know people don’t care… until a bunch of people started asking me to start a blog, particularly to share my experiences as a trans woman.

So I did.

Name 3 of your favorite authors/poets, and why you like them.

Terry Pratchett

I’ve actually been meaning to write a post about how much Sir Terry’s writing means to me.

A few years ago I went through my first heartbreak. It was terrible and dramatic, and everything that happens when you’re 16 and someone rejects you.

I fell into depression but luckily stumbled on the Discworld books. Reading them helped bring me back from the dark place I was in an rediscover the beauty and joy in the world.

Besides that positive impact in my life, I just enjoy his silly cleverness. He’s the sort of person that doesn’t take language or stories too seriously; a man after my own heart.

Neil Gaiman

I like to think of him as the only modern fairy tale writer. Gaiman has this amazing talent for writing stories that feel like fairy tales, but instead of trying to imitate stories written hundreds of years ago, he just does his own thing. The result makes you feel afraid, excited, and nearly like a kid again.

There’s also the fact one of my Top Ten Short Stories of all time, as well as one of my Top Ten Books of all time are written by him.

Emily Dickinson

The last few months of my pre-transition life were fairly awful. There was all the fear as I started to plan for a radically changing future, the rejection I felt from friends who were mostly shocked from me coming out, and other issues with a person very close to me.

One of the few things that kept me grounded during that time was memorising poetry, then repeating poems to myself as a sort of manic mantra when I was feeling overwhelmed.

Though I loved many of them, my favourite one was Hope is the Thing with Feathes. Even after a year of learning it, I can still bring it to mind without much effort:

Hope is the thing with feathers, that perches in the soul And sings in tune without the words, and never stops at all And sweetest in the gale is heard, and sore must be the storm that could abash the little bird, that’s kept so many warm

I’ve heard it in the chillest lands, and on the strangest seas

And never, in extremity it asked a thing of me.

Do you have any pets or significant animals in your life?

Sadly not. I can barely afford to feed myself, so there’s no chance I could pay for more food or everything else that comes with having a pet.

I do have an adorable Cyndaquil plushie though, so that’s something 😀

Do you have any tattoos?

Yes, I do!

I have an owl on my left arm because I like owls. I also have a fleur-de-lys on my arm because I like how the symbol looks, but mostly because of its meaning. Fleur-de-lys is French for Lily (well, Lily flower to be exact) and served as a symbol for me to mentally rally behind in the pre-transition days when I needed encouragement. Now it’s a good reminder that I’ve been through hell and survived, and that I can achieve anything and get through difficult times.

What has been your greatest achievement so far?

Probably my gender transition. I sometimes forget how much effort it was, but I’m currently solidly established in life as a woman, where that once felt impossible. That’s kind of crazy.

Go me! 😛

What do you do daily to keep yourself as mentally healthy as possible?

Not as much as I should. I’ve been reading a lot more this year than I have since my college days, so that’s been good. Apart from that, only some work stuff.

I’ve been considering making a book of math problems and solving those on my free time. I’ve always liked arithmetic. Hmm. Maybe I should get on that soon…

What city do you live in and how do you feel about it?

I live in Bogotá, Colombia.

I love my city. I love how it looks and how it feels. I love the parks and museums, and Ciclovia. I like our culture and my country in general.

It also helps that we have great medical coverage that means I usually spend more money on transportation to the hospital than I do on my blood tests, medical appointments, or medicine.

Which is kind of amazing for a trans person.

What is your favorite meal?

I don’t have one particular meal in particular, but I’m a big fan of the burgers at Fuddruckers. I also enjoy eating Bandeja Paisa. It’s an amazing Colombian dish that mixes beef, rice, beans, sausage, blood sausage, avocado, arepa, and plantain. It is delicious and wonderful and everything anyone could want in a dish.

If you had a superpower what would it be?

Invisibility. We’ve been over this already 🙂

Who living or dead would you like to meet?

I don’t know. I think hanging around Paul McCartney would be pretty cool. Talking to Jesus would probably help settle a few questions. As I said the last time I answered this, probably an old friend who I still miss from time to time.

What inanimate object annoys you more than anything else?

Uh, none? Haha, what an odd question.

I’ll message people with my questions once I find someone to nominate.


Sorry to not have a regular full-fledged post today. I usually write most of my Friday posts on Thursday mornings, but I’ve been short of sleep lately and took yesterday as a chance to catch up on my rest, so I barely had any time left to write something up.

Also, the blog was featured over at blitz magazine so click on this link to read an interview I did with them 🙂

Screenshot 2016-03-11 at 08.07.45.png

I’ll see you all again on Sunday 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

