Melodious

I was talking with a friend today, and after a little while my voice started getting a little hoarse. I was a bit surprised, since I’m used to speaking for 8 hours a day at the call centre… except I’m not, as I’ve been home the last couple of weeks.

Oops.

I still have about a week and a half of sick leave left, so I’ll be trying to start practising my voice during that time so I don’t like, tear out half my vocal cords my first day back or something. In the interest of that, and wild experimentation, today’s post will be mostly in audio format. I’ve had an idea for a post for a while and it’d work better if it’s recorded, so I guess I can kill two stones with one bird.

You can click this link to open an audio file. I’ve written down what I say in the recording so you can follow along, but the whole point of this post is for you to listen to it, so please make sure you have the audio ready.


 

Hi everyone! This is going to be the first time many of you hear my voice, so… hi! 🙂 Hope you like it. Please forgive me if I start speaking a little quickly or broken. Like I said, my voice is a little rusty and I also have a bit of a stuffy nose.

As some of you might know, I speak Spanish. My favourite language is of course English; it’s the one I think in, and the one I speak most fluently (even though Spanish is my ‘native language.’).However, I’ve always thought Spanish has something going for it, and that’s how beautiful and melodious it sounds. English can sound beautiful as well, but on balance I just feel like Spanish has more soft words that lend themselves to be savoured while saying them.

Sorry if that sounds a little weird. I’ll let you be the judge of that yourself. Now I’m no great orator, as you can probably tell by now, but I’ll do my very best to do each language justice as I read a couple of poems I found, one in English, and one in Spanish. I’ll have a link to a translation for the one in Spanish, so if you’re curious about what it means you can just open that.

Now let’s get started!


A Noiseless Patient Spider
by Walt Whitman

A noiseless patient spider,
I mark’d where on a little promontory it stood isolated,
Mark’d how to explore the vacant vast surrounding,
It launch’d forth filament, filament, filament, out of itself,
Ever unreeling them, ever tirelessly speeding them.

And you O my soul where you stand,
Surrounded, detached, in measureless oceans of space,
Ceaselessly musing, venturing, throwing,
seeking the spheres to connect them,

Till the bridge you will need be form’d, till the ductile anchor hold,
Till the gossamer thread you fling catch somewhere, O my soul.


Me Gustas Cuando Callas
por Pablo Neruda

Me gustas cuando callas porque estás como ausente,
y me oyes desde lejos, y mi voz no te toca.
Parece que los ojos se te hubieran volado
y parece que un beso te cerrara la boca.

Como todas las cosas están llenas de mi alma
emerges de las cosas, llena del alma mía.
Mariposa de sueño, te pareces a mi alma,
y te pareces a la palabra melancolía.

Me gustas cuando callas y estás como distante.
Y estás como quejándote, mariposa en arrullo.
Y me oyes desde lejos, y mi voz no te alcanza:
déjame que me calle con el silencio tuyo.

Déjame que te hable también con tu silencio
claro como una lámpara, simple como un anillo.
Eres como la noche, callada y constelada.
Tu silencio es de estrella, tan lejano y sencillo.

Me gustas cuando callas porque estás como ausente.
Distante y dolorosa como si hubieras muerto.
Una palabra entonces, una sonrisa bastan.
Y estoy alegre, alegre de que no sea cierto.

[Click here for English translation]


I hope I’ve done those poems justice. If not, here are links to better readings for the one in English, and the one in Spanish.

The one in Spanish in particular is worth hearing even if you didn’t dislike my reading (lol) as it’ll give you a taste of what a different accent sounds like (because I have a weird accent).

What did you think? Do you agree or disagree with me about Spanish? Let me know!
If you speak any language other than those two, I’d love to hear you speak it. You can use a site called vocaroo to share a quick recording if you like.

Have a happy Sunday 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Melodious

    • Liliana says:

      Thanks fit linking! That’s so cool, I love how German sounds.

      I don’t know if you picked up my accent in English? It doesn’t really ‘belong’ anywhere. My Spanish is a bit like that. It has something different about it that isn’t one of the usual accents you tend to hear.

      Like

      • Helen Smith says:

        I did notice sometimes you sounded more american (like usa? i think) than others. That’s quite cool! Accents are fun. 🙂
        I was wondering if you had any other poems in spanish you would recommend? I like reading poems to practise pronunciation. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Liliana says:

    Sorry, I’m not very good at Spanish-speaking literature or poetry. Check out other poems by Pablo Neruda though, he’s great.

    Yeah, my accent slips into American sometimes, and then people from the US ask me where my accent is from *shrug*

    Like

Leave a Reply

